Disaster Recovery Centers Open Around South Carolina to Assist Impacted South Carolinians

Charleston, SC – As South Carolina families continue to recover from recent severe storms and flooding, U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) highlighted Disaster Recovery Centers opened in eight locations to assist South Carolinians navigate the various recovery assistance options.

At each center, representatives from the South Carolina Emergency Management Division, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies will be at the centers to explain disaster assistance programs and assist impacted residents apply for aid. Residents are encouraged to register with FEMA online at www.DisasterAssistance.govor by calling800-621-3362. Additionally, caseworkers in all of Scott’s state offices are also available to assist residents with issues that may arise after submitting their application.

Locations of the Disaster Recovery Centers, which are open from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm seven days a week until further notice, are currently as follows:

Clarendon County
Weldon Auditorium
7 Maple St.
Manning, SC

Florence County
Holiness Conference Center – Evans Dining Hall
620 Ron McNair Blvd.
Lake City, SC

Horry County
North Strand Park & Recreational Center
120 Hwy 57 S
Little River, SC 29566

South Strand Recreation Center
9650 Scipio Lane
Myrtle Beach, SC 29588

Kershaw County
Blaney Fire Department
2344 Hwy 1 South
Elgin, SC 29045

Lexington County
Irmo Branch Library
6251 St. Andrews Rd.
Columbia, SC

Caycee-West County Library
1500 Augusta Rd.
West Columbia, SC

Orangeburg County
8423 Old State Road
Holly Hill, SC
Note: government complex near police station

Richland County
Richland County Library Southeast
7421 Garners Ferry Rd.
Columbia, SC

Richland County Library Eastover
608 Main St.
Eastover, SC

South Carolina State Fair
1200 Rosewood Drive
Columbia, SC 29201
Note: Open 12PM-8PM, Monday-Thursday, 11AM-8PM Friday-Sunday

Sumter County
Civic Center
700 W. Liberty St.
Sumter, SC

Currently, Individual Assistance (IA) is available for individuals and households in Bamberg, Berkley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Dorchester, Darlington, Florence, Georgetown, Greenwood, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Kershaw, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg that were impacted by severe storms and flooding on October 1, 2015 and onward. Individuals and Households in impacted counties that have yet to be declared eligible by the Obama Administration for assistance are still encouraged to begin the process of registering with FEMA for possible future relief. The state and federal government continue to assess damage in additional counties.Public Assistance (PA) is currently available for State, Tribal and local governments, and certain types of nonprofit organizations to provide assistance foremergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities in Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg Counties.

Immediately following the storms and flooding, when the federal government approved South Carolina’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration, Senator Scott created a special page on his Senate website (scott.senate.gov/FEMA) with information for individuals and families about the FEMA process. This page will continue to be updated as additional information becomes available.