Monday | September 17, 2018

Recovering from Hurricane Florence

Information Resource Sheet

  • SCEMD County Offices: County Emergency Management Office Contacts (alphabetical)

  • Disaster Recovery Centers: 

    The Disaster Recovery Centers will be located at the following addresses:

    Darlington County
    National Guard Armory
    1764 Harry Byrd Highway
    Darlington, SC 29532

    Dillon County
    City of Dillon Wellness Center
    1647 Commerce Drive
    Dillon, SC 29536
    Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
    Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

    Horry County
    Horry Georgetown Technical College
    2050 US 501
    Conway, SC 29526
    Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
    Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

    Marion County
    Marion County Industrial Park
    2914 Spartan Pl.
    Marion, SC 29571
    Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
    Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

    Marlboro County
    Marian Wright Edelman Public Library 
    203 Fayetteville Ave.
    Bennettsville, SC 29512
    Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
    Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Returning Home:

FEMA Assistance: **Last day to register is Dec. 5th**

  • Individual Assistance (IA): Assistance to individuals and household
    • You may apply for IA through FEMA in the following counties: Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion & Marlboro. You can apply online at or by phone at 1-800-621-3362.

  • Public Assistance (PA): Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities
    • PA-Designated Areas: Berkeley, Calhoun, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lancaster, Marion, Marlboro and Williamsburg Counties for emergency protective measures (Category A-G), and Charleston, Dorchester, Jasper, Orangeburg and Sumter counties (Category B) including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.                                                                   
  • Hazard Mitigation (HM): Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards
    • HM-Designated Areas: All counties and Indian Tribes in the State of South Carolina are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

National Flood Insurance Program: Policyholders should call their agent or insurance company to file a flood claim. Policyholders who need assistance contacting their insurance company can contact the NFIP Call Center at 1-800-427-4661. A flood insurance adjuster should reach out within a few days to start the claims process. After filing a flood claim, if NFIP policyholders have additional unmet needs, they are encouraged to register for disaster assistance. They may be eligible for additional funds.  Individuals can register online at, or by calling toll-free 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585).

SC Department of Insurance: Call 803-737-6227 for any insurance related questions.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS): IRS relief is also dependent on a Major Disaster Declaration. 
**Currently, 18 counties qualify for automatic tax relief (Berkeley, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Jasper, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lancaster, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Sumter & Williamsburg). Individuals who reside or have a business in Berkeley, Charleston, Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Sumter & Williamsburg counties may qualify for tax relief. The IRS automatically identifies taxpayers located in the covered disaster area and applies automatic filing and payment relief. But affected taxpayers who reside or have a business located outside the covered disaster area must call the IRS disaster hotline at 866-562-5227 to request this tax relief. More information can be found here:

Small Business Administration (SBA):** Last day to register is Dec. 5th**
Applying for Disaster Relief Loans:
The SBA announced that they are Offering assistance to...
Economic Injury eligible: Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Darlington, Florence, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lee, Sumter & Williamsburg counties.
Physical & Economic Injury eligible: Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Marlboro, Marion and Horry counties. 
Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBA’s secure website at If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362. 
Additional details on the locations of Disaster Recovery Centers and the loan application process can be obtained by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an e-mail to

Unemployment (UI): If your job in the following eight counties (Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion & Marlboro) has been affected by Hurricane Florence go to and click the MyBenefits Login in the top right corner to apply through the unemployment insurance (UI) benefits system. For help, call 1-866-831-1724. The deadline for applying October 24, 2018 – 30 calendar days from the date that DEW announced the availability of DUA in the county.

Legal InformationThe Disaster Legal Services Program administered by S.C. Bar Association can be reached at 877-787-2227 ext. 120 or 803-576-3815 Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. or online at:

Mental Health: The Disaster Distress Helpline is available 24 hours daily, to provide counseling to anyone who is seeking help in coping with Hurricane Florence. Call 800-985-5990 (800-846-8517 TTY) (multilingual operators are available; press 2 for Spanish), text "TalkWithUs" (for Spanish “Hablanos”) to 66746 or visit DisasterDistress.samhsa.govInformation for helping children cope with disaster can be found at

Related Issues: