Scott, Colleagues Introduce Permitting Reform Legislation

Washington – This week, U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) joined Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and 44 of their colleagues in introducing the Simplify Timelines and Assure Regulatory Transparency (START) Act. This legislation would implement comprehensive federal regulatory permitting and project review reform.

 “The failure of Democrat leadership has made the link between energy and national security more apparent than ever before,” said Senator Scott. “Republicans are focused on efficient solutions like the START Act to provide the necessary framework for states to promptly address the challenges to undertaking necessary energy and infrastructure projects across the country.”

 “Since our calls for action and offers to see legislative text from the permitting ‘deal’ remain unheeded, Republicans are introducing this legislation today to deliver solutions to the roadblocks, delays, and postponements of key infrastructure projects across the country,” said Senator Capito. “The START Act would provide regulatory certainty to states, expedite permitting and review processes, codify substantive environmental regulatory reforms, and expedite permitting of the critically important Mountain Valley Pipeline. Republicans are unified in working to deliver needed permitting reform, and this legislation is a blueprint for how we can help communities benefit from being able to finally get critical projects across the finish line.”

This bill was co-sponsored by U.S. Senators Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), John Kennedy (R-La.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), and Rob Portman (R-Ohio).

Full text of the bill can be found here.