Sen. Scott Champions Resolution Recognizing National Police Week

WASHINGTON — U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) joined 75 of his Senate colleagues in introducing a resolution designating the week of May 12 through 18, 2024 as National Police Week. 

“Our police officers selflessly answer the call of duty to protect us, planting the seeds of hope for a better future for all Americans,” said Senator Scott. “I’ll never waver in my commitment to support law enforcement and their efforts to build safe communities, and I am more grateful than ever for the sacrifices of our officers and their families.”

The resolution:

  • Designates the week of May 12 through May 18, 2024, as “National Police Week;”
  • Expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities;
  • Recognizes the need to ensure that law enforcement officers have the equipment, training, and resources that are necessary in order to protect the health and safety of the officers while the officers protect the public;
  • Acknowledges that police officers and other law enforcement personnel, especially those who have made the ultimate sacrifice, should be remembered and honored;
  • Expresses condolences and solemn appreciation to the loved ones of each law enforcement officer who has made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty; and
  • Encourages the people of the United States to observe National Police Week by honoring law enforcement personnel and promoting awareness of the essential mission that law enforcement personnel undertake in service to their communities and the United States.

In addition to Senator Scott, the resolution is cosponsored by Senators Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Angus King (I-Maine), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), and Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.).