Senator Scott Applauds Passage of Resolution Celebrating Black History Month

WASHINGTON — During Black History Month, U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) celebrated the Senate passage of a bipartisan resolution commemorating Black History Month and the important contributions made by Black Americans throughout United States history.

“Black History Month is an opportunity to showcase how far we’ve come as a nation, to learn from the lessons of our past and strive towards the creation of a more perfect union,” said Senator Scott. “As we celebrate the resilience and contributions of Black Americans past and present, my prayer for our country is that we build on the tremendous progress we’ve made, continue to turn our challenges into triumphs and make the future of America our greatest chapter yet.” 

Introduced by Senator Scott and Senators Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.) and Rev. Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), the resolution recognizes that all Americans benefit from the rich historical legacy of Black culture and recognizes Black History Month as a chance to reflect on the complex history of the nation while also striving to create a future where every individual has access to opportunity, paving the way for a society where success knows no bounds.

The resolution is cosponsored by Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Shelley Capito (R-W.Va.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Angus King (I-Maine), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), and Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.). 

To read the full text of the resolution, click here.