Senator Scott Congratulates South Carolina’s 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Washington– U.S. Senator Tim Scott offered his congratulations to five South Carolina schools today upon their recognition as National Blue Ribbon Schools. The following South Carolina schools have been honored:

  • Forestbrook Middle School, Myrtle Beach
  • Lakewood Elementary School, Myrtle Beach
  • Myrtle Beach Intermediate School, Myrtle Beach
  • T.E. Mabry Middle School, Inman
  • Woodruff Elementary School, Woodruff

“Congratulations to the teachers, students and administrators at these great schools on their recognition as a 2015 Blue Ribbon School,” said Scott, a member of the Senate Education Committee. “Their efforts and dedication have produced outstanding results as they work towards closing achievement gaps and providing students with the best learning environment possible.”

Created in 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private schools for their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among students from disadvantaged backgrounds.

To honor the schools selected, U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan will host two representatives from each selected school in Washington, DC for a Recognition Ceremony on November 9th and 10th. Each school will receive a plaque and a flag to signify its status as a National Blue Ribbon School.

A list of all 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools will be available on the U. S. Department of Education’s website at