Senator Scott Nominates 48 South Carolina Students to U.S. Military Service Academies

Charleston, SC – U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) today announced the nominations of 48 South Carolina students to the United States Military Service Academies for the class of 2019, including the U.S. Military Academy in West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY. In advance of this round of nominations, staff from Senator Scott’s state offices hosted eleven information sessions across the state.
“I am extremely proud to nominate 48 South Carolina students for admission to U.S. Military Service Academies. Since shortly after the founding of our great nation, our academies have produced some of the best and brightest military leaders in the world and provided a world-class education for their students,” said Senator Tim Scott. “These young South Carolinians represent some of our state’s best and I am grateful for their willingness to wear our nation’s uniform and serve.”
Senator Scott’s nominations, including the student’s high school and hometown and county, for the class of 2019 are as follows:
U.S. Military Academy- West Point, NY
  • Evan Thomas Delvaux, Blythewood High School (Blythewood, Richland)
  • Michael Dillon, Hilton Head Christian Academy (Hilton Head Island, Beaufort)
  • Javier Doward, Hammond School (Columbia, Richland)
  • Micah Floyd, Green Sea Floyds High School (Loris, Horry)
  • Kayla Ann Grainger, Berkeley High School (Moncks Corner, Berkeley)
  • Gressette Richard Holt, Home Schooled (Simpsonville, Greenville)
  • Brent Tay Towery, Socastee High School (Myrtle Beach, Horry)
  • Timothy Tyler Williams, Cathedral Academy (Ladson, Dorchester)
  • Jamar Andre’ Williams, Crestwood High School (Dalzell, Sumter)
  • Gabrielle Young, Lower Richland High School (Hopkins, Richland)
U.S. Naval Academy – Annapolis, MD
  • Tyrone Victor Abraham, Marlboro County High School (Bennettsville, Marlboro)
  • Henry Baker Gregorie Baird, Bishop England High School (Ravenel, Charleston)
  • Luka Bakic, Groton School (Hilton Head Island, Beaufort)
  • Caitlin Lorae Bowman, Clover High School (Clover, York)
  • Evan Thurber Camp, Academic Magnet High School (Hollywood, Charleston)
  • Jackson Parker Darash, James F. Byrnes High School (Duncan, Spartanburg)
  • Garrett Dell, Dutch Fork High School (Columbia, Lexington)
  • Alan Dugger, River Bluff High School (Columbia, Lexington)
  • Kevin Matthew Foley, James L. Mann High School (Simpsonville, Greenville)
  • James Matthew Hurley, West Ashley High School (Charleston, Charleston)
  • Raymond Reid Kaplan, Porter-Gaud (Charleston, Charleston)
  • Ethan McAllister, Hannah Pamplico High School (Pamplico, Florence)
  • Clayton Pratt, Fort Mill High School (Fort Mill, York)
  • Zachary Michael Reineke, Academic Magnet High School (Mount Pleasant, Charleston)
  • John Gavin Roser, Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics (Hartsville, Darlington)
  • Zachary Taylor Scott, Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics (Beaufort, Beaufort)
  • Cody Grant Sims, Hammond School (Columbia, Richland)
  • George Skinner, Wade Hampton High School (Varnville, Hampton)
  • John Westley Slavens, Clover High School (York, York)
  • Kelly Hayes Williamson Jr., Latta High School (Dillon, Dillon)
U.S. Air Force Academy – Colorado Spring, CO
  • Caleb O’Neal Elms, Manning High School (Manning, Clarendon)
  • Derrick Marquis Engram, Camden High School (Camden, Kershaw)
  • Kevin Matthew Foley, James L. Mann High School (Simpsonville, Greenville)
  • Samantha Alexander Jones, Thomas Heyward Academy (Hardeeville, Jasper)
  • Erin Paige Kramer, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant, Charleston)
  • Lee Philip Levesque II, South Carolina Connections Academy (Beaufort, Beaufort)
  • Seren Colleen Marley, Bob Jones Academy (Greenville, Greenville)
  • Daniel Jason Schell, Fort Mill High School (Fort Mill, York)
  • Bailey Thomas Tully, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant, Charleston)
  • Noah Merritt White, Thomas Sumter Academy (Sumter, Sumter)
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, NY
  • Daniel Barfield, Home Schooled (Blythewood, Richland)
  • Wesley Ross Cary, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant, Charleston)
  • Nicholas Michael Dailey, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant, Charleston)
  • Andrew Hines Daniell, Wando High School (Charleston, Berkeley)
  • Devin George Fiorenza, Fort Mill High School (Tega Cay, York)
  • Samuel Christopher Hill, Home Schooled (Townville, Anderson)
  • Michael King, Riverside High School (Greer, Greenville)
  • Corey Christopher Lorence, River Bluff High School (Lexington, Lexington)
To be considered for an appointment to a service academy, applicants must be nominated by a Member of Congress or other authorized nominating source. However, final admission is determined by the respective academy.
To be considered for a nomination from Senator Scott, students were required to submit an application, SAT/ACT scores, high school transcripts, and three letters of recommendation. Each candidate was then interviewed by community and business leaders and distinguished members of the military, including many alumni of one of the service academies.
South Carolina students interested in applying for future nominations or for more information about the nomination process to the Service Academy can call the Service Academy Coordinator at (803) 771-6112 or click HERE.