Senator Scott Nominates 50 South Carolina Students to U.S. Military Service Academies

Washington – U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) today announced the nominations of 50 South Carolina students to the United States Military Service Academies for the class of 2020, including the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Military Academy in West Point, NY, the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY. In advance of this round of nominations, staff from Senator Scott’s state offices hosted twelve information sessions across the state.
“Being able to nominate South Carolinians for admission to U.S. Military Academies is one of the best parts of my job. Each year, I am humbled by the number of applications I get from young people who are willing to make the commitment to serve their country in this capacity,” said Senator Scott. “I am proud to say that the students in South Carolina are impressive, to say the least, and give me the unique problem of having too many good applications from which to choose. With such a great pool to choose from, I am confident that these young people will be a positive reflection on our state and will become great leaders in our military.”
Senator Scott’s nominations, including the student’s high school and hometown, for the class of 2020 are as follows:
U.S. Naval Academy – Annapolis, MD
Jessica Baynes, Academic Magnet High School (Johns Island)
Sean Bernstel, Branchville High School (Branchville)
Katherine Boyle, Irmo High School (Columbia)
Benjamin Burton, Bishop England High School (Charleston)
Kara Dowling, Spartanburg High School (Spartanburg)
Brooke Everly, Whale Branch Early College High School (Seabrook)
James Fernandez-Parker, Ashley Ridge High School (Summerville)
Boyce Haigley, Shattuck St. Mary’s School (Mount Pleasant)
Samuel Hill, Homeschooled (Townville)
Cameron Jensen, JL Mann High School (Simpsonville)
Anna LeighRunion, Greer Middle College Charter School (Greer)
William Metcalf, Blue Ridge High School (Greer)
John Montgomery, West Ashley High School (Johns Island)
Darius Nwokike, Academic Magnet High School (Charleston)
Alton O’Neal, Homeward Education Association (Summerville)
Elizabeth Russler, Ashley Hall (Charleston)
Noah Sanders, Belton Honea Path High School (Anderson)
Tamere Smith, Boiling Springs High School (Moore)
Daniel Joseph Veidman, St. Joseph’s Catholic School (Simpsonville)
Paul Zielinski, Princess Anne High School (Virginia Beach, VA)
U.S. Military Academy – West Point, NY
Pa-Sweet Betancourt, Hilton Head Island High School (Hilton Head Island)
Michael Dillon, Hilton Head Christian Academy (Hilton Head Island)
Andrew LaFlam, Southside Christian School (Simpsonville)
Arykah Moore, Summerville High School (Summerville)
Nathaniel Schlosser, Academic Magnet High School (Mount Pleasant)
Autumn Shea, Riverside High School (Simpsonville)
Michael Turner II, Hammond School (Columbia)
Cameron Ward, Porter Gaud School (Mount Pleasant)
Thomas Zeal, Blythewood High School (Marion, AL)
James Zemp, JL Mann High School (Greenville)
U.S. Air Force Academy – Colorado Springs, CO
David Ashbury, Saint Joseph’s Catholic High School (Simpsonville)
Adam Barnette, Blue Ridge High School (Taylors)
Caitlin Bitting, Rock Hill High School (Rock Hill)
Benjamin Duncan, South Aiken High School (Aiken)
Myers Hamer, Dillon High School (Dillon)
Davis Pinckney, Fort Mill High School (Fort Mill)
Sarah Placke, Lugoff-Elgin High School (Elgin)
Hannah Potter, Lugoff-Elgin High School (Elgin)
Joshua Weishuhn, Homeschooled (Florence)
Cullen Wojewodka, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant)
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, NY
Eric Avalos, Greer High School (Greer)
Peyton Campbell, Gaffney High School (Gaffney)
Griffin DesMarteau, Waccamaw High School (Pawley’s Island)
John Dickson, Hanahan High School (Goose Creek)
Eric Esselman, South Aiken High School (Aiken)
Michael Greco, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant)
Boyce Haigler, Shattuck St. Mary’s School (Mount Pleasant)
Philip Middleton, Academic Magnet High School (Charleston)
Jakob Poole, Gaffney High School (Gaffney)
Hannah Potter, Lugoff-Elgin High School (Elgin)
Hailey Sobota, Wando High School (Sullivan’s Island)
To be considered for an appointment to a service academy, applicants must be nominated by a Member of Congress or other authorized nominating source. However, final admission is determined by the respective academy.
To be considered for a nomination from Senator Scott, students were required to submit an application, SAT/ACT scores, high school transcripts, and three letters of recommendation. Each candidate was then interviewed by community and business leaders and distinguished members of the military, including many alumni of one of the service academies.
South Carolina students interested in applying for future nominations or for more information about the nomination process to the Service Academy can call the Service Academy Coordinator at (803) 771-6112 or clickHERE.