Scott, Cotton, Comer Denounce D.C. Council Bill Letting Illegal Immigrants Vote in Local Elections

WASHINGTON – Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) joined Senator Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) and other Senate colleagues in cosponsoring a joint resolution formally disapproving of the District of Columbia Council approving legislation that would let illegal immigrants vote in D.C. local elections. Rep. James Comer (KY-01) introduced the joint resolution in the House.

“The integrity of American elections is at the core of our democracy,” said Sen. Scott. “Both sides of the aisle should agree that allowing illegal immigrants to vote is a blatant attack on the integrity of our elections that disenfranchises American citizens by diluting the power of their vote.”

“Allowing illegal immigrants and other foreign nationals to vote in our elections, in our capital, is an insult to every American. After years of lamenting so-called ‘foreign interference’ in our elections, every single Democrat ought to join in invalidating this insane policy,” said Sen. Cotton. 

Sens. Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-AL), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Iowa), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky), James Risch (R-Idaho), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), John Thune (R-S.D.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), and Todd Young (R-Ind.) co-sponsored the resolution.

If passed by the House and Senate, and signed by the President, the joint resolution would prevent the D.C. Council’s proposed legislation from going into effect. The joint resolution can be found here.