Sens. Scott, Paul, and Colleagues Fight to Protect American Workers

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) joined Senator Rand Paul (R-Ky.) in reintroducing the National Right-to-Work Act, which preserves and protects the free choice of individual employees to form, join, or assist labor organizations or refrain from such activities.

U.S. Representative Joe Wilson (R-S.C.) reintroduced companion legislation this week in the U.S. House of Representatives.

“American workers – not big labor unions – are the engines of job creation, opportunity, and our economy,” said Senator Scott. “Ensuring hardworking Americans have the freedom to choose what’s best for them, their careers, and their families is vital to helping them live out their version of the American dream.”

“The National Right-to-Work Act ensures all American workers have the ability to choose to refrain from joining or paying dues to a union as a condition for employment.” said Dr. Paul. “Kentucky and 26 other states have already passed right to work laws. It’s time for the federal government to follow their lead.”

“Every American and their employer should have the power to negotiate the terms of their employment, and no American should be forced to pay union dues or ‘fees’ just to get or keep a job,” said Congressman Wilson. “South Carolina is a right-to-work state, and we have seen tremendous economic growth by expanding economic freedom for our businesses. We must continue to work towards promoting job creation and ending automatic unionism for the American people. 80% of people in our country support putting an end to dues as a condition of employment. I am grateful to stand alongside my colleagues to offer protections for workers and their employers.”

The National Right-to-Work Act repeals six statutory provisions that allow private-sector workers and airline and railroad employees to be fired if they don’t surrender part of their paycheck to a union. This legislation will put bargaining power back where it belongs: in the hands of the American workers.

 Sens. Scott and Paul were joined by Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.). 

Read the bill here